Share this


1.

The Dash & Lily series by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

"Mind the Gap, Dash & Lily" by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan book cover; featuring Christmas lights in the background and a London skyline silhouette


Penguin Random House

If you’re a fan of the Dash & Lily Netflix series, you probably know it’s based on a book by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan — but did you know there’s more books in the series? Three, to be precise. The first book, Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares, formed the basis for Season 1 of the show, while book 2, Twelve Days of Dash & Lily takes place a year later and the third book, Mind the Gap, Dash & Lily is set a year later once again. It’s a lot of fun to check in with these two every Christmas and see how things progress and change.

2.

Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Cover of Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan featuring a still image of the movie adaptation


Ember

If you love Dash & Lily, chances are you’ll adore Rachel Cohn and David Levithan’s other collaborations, too. They have several, but Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist was the first. And yes, it was adapted into a great movie starring Kat Dennings and Michael Cera. Like Dash & Lily, Nick & Norah takes place in New York City, this time over the course of just one night. It’s full of adventure and romance and music references.

3.

My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins

Cover of My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins, featuring an illustration of couples ice skating together and listing the authors included in the anthology


St. Martin’s Griffin

What’s better than one holiday romance? Twelve, of course! This anthology features stories from some of the best YA authors in the business — including David Levithan himself. With stories centred around Christmas, Hanukkah, New Year’s, and even Winter Solstice, it’s the perfect cozy escape for the holiday season.

4.

Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

Cover of Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle featuring a snowflake motif


Penguin

You might be familiar with the Netflix adaption of this book which came out in 2019. Let It Snow tells three interconnected stories, all taking place during a Christmas Eve snowstorm in a small town. There’s stranded trains and kisses with strangers, best friends who might be more, and a bit of self-growth with a side of revenge. What else could you want?

5.

All I Want For Christmas by Wendy Loggia

All I Want For Christmas by Wendy Loggia cover featuring an illustration of a girl, a boy, and a dog


Penguin Random House

Main character Bailey is not unlike Lily in Dash & Lily — she loves Christmas and baking and bookstores (in fact, she works in one). And she’s desperate to find someone to kiss under the mistletoe. There are two very different boys in her life who might just be able to make it happen, and it’s all very adorable.

6.

Late to the Party by Kelly Quindlen

Cover of "Late to the Party" by Kelly Quindlen featuring an illustration of a girl knocking on a door


Macmillan

Moving away from holiday romances but still very much in the realm of cute contemporary escapes, Late to the Party is about a girl called Codi who has lived a quiet, “boring” life, until one day she crashes a party with friends that changes everything. She befriends a boy there who introduces her to a new world and new adventures — including a romance with a girl called Lydia.

7.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Cover of To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han featuring a girl lying on her bed with a notebook and pen


Simon & Schuster

This book probably needs no introduction. If you haven’t already read it, you must have at least watched the Netflix movie (once or twice or 117 times). And if you haven’t WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR GO DO THAT RIGHT NOW. And if you’re someone who loves the movie but hasn’t gotten around to reading the book yet, consider this your prompt. The love story of Lara Jean and Peter Kavinsky is just as sweet on the page.

8.

Now That I’ve Found You by Kristina Forest

Cover of Now That I've Found You by Kristina Forest featuring an illustration of a girl and a boy sitting next to each other on the subway


Macmillan

If adventures in New York is what you loved most about Dash & Lily, this is the book for you. It’s a romantic and moving story that follows budding actress Evie and musician Milo as they embark on a manhunt across New York City in search of Evie’s super-famous grandma, Gigi, who has gone into hiding.

9.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins cover featuring an image of the Eiffel  Tower on a pink background


Usborne Publishing

Now for adventures in a totally different city: Paris! With a much better romance and much more likeable characters than a certain Netflix show (and no, I don’t mean Dash & Lily this time). Anna and the French Kiss is about an American teen who gets sent to an international school in Paris, where she meets a British boy with a French name. It’s completely swoon-worthy and will also make you want to eat a lot of croissants.

10.

“Yes No Maybe So” by Becky Albertalli & Aisha Saeed

Cover of "Yes No Maybe So" by Becky Albertalli & Aisha Saeed featuring an illustration series of a girl and a boy


Balzer + Bray

This stunning collaboration is about Maya, a Muslim girl whose life is unravelling, and Jamie, an extremely introverted Jewish boy. The pair team up and enter the world of local activism and political canvassing. They were formerly childhood friends, and when they meet again, things are awkward…until they’re less awkward and more extremely romantic.

11.

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Cover of Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley featuring the title written across open books.


Random House

Craving a bookish romance? Words in Deep Blue is one of the best. It’s set in a secondhand bookstore that contains a section called the Letter Library, where people can leave notes in the books. The main characters, Henry and Rachel, are former best friends who drifted apart for complicated reasons and are getting to know one another again. It’s all pretty damn magical.

12.

By the Book by Amanda Sellet

Cover of By the Book by Amanda Sellet feautring an illustration of a girl and a boy in a bookstore


HMH Book

Another bookish story, this time about a girl named Mary who is obsessed with classic romances and constructs a “Scoundrel Survival Guide” based on her reading experience. Of course, she soon discovers real life is not like a story. The love interest, Alex, is rather lovely, but one of the strongest parts of the book is actually the exploration of friendship.

13.

Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

Cover of Tweet Cute by Emma Lord featuring an illustration of a girl and a boy in separate buildings looking at their phones


Macmillan

Two teens run the social media accounts for their family’s rival food businesses, and get into a fight on Twitter that quickly goes viral. Meanwhile, unbeknownst to each other, they’re also talking on an anonymous chat app — and falling for each other pretty hard. The characters are very endearing, and it’s a fun and funny ride.

14.

Date Me, Bryson Keller by Kevin van Whye

Cover of Date Me, Bryson Keller by Kevin van Whye featuring a photo of two boys in private school uniform


Penguin Random House

Jumping off from the dare angle of Dash & Lily, this book is about a boy named Bryson who is dared to date someone new every week. When a boy named Kai is the one who asks him out, and Bryson says yes, both of their lives are turned upside down. It’s an incredibly tender love story with characters you just want to hug.

15.

Amelia Westlake Was Never Here by Erin Gough

Cover of Amelia Westlake Was Never Here by Erin Gough featuring an illustration of a girl's private school uniform


Hachette

Okay, so enough about dares, how do you feel about pranks and hoaxes? Amelia Westlake Was Never Here is about two girls — a goodie goodie and a misfit — who form an unexpected partnership to secretly expose some shady stuff going on at their school. The book explores important themes of feminism and smashing the patriarchy, but it’s also a really gorgeous enemies-to-lovers romance.



Source link

Like this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *