Share this

The NFL regular season is over, the MVP race became a four-man race that included Aaron Rodgers, Patrick Mahomes, Josh Allen, and Derrick Henry. All four have been extraordinary during this bizarre year, but the season has wrapped up, and only one will get to hold the trophy.

Sorry to burst the bubbles of those three players and their respective fans, but Rodgers has the MVP in the bag…and it should (but won’t) be unanimous.

Aaron Rodgers accepting MVP Award.


The Green Bay Packers’ quarterback has 48 passing touchdowns and has led his team to 13 wins. He is an easy lock for the MVP, but I am sure some voters will grandstand and not give this man his dues.

How can some bozo from BuzzFeed be so confident?

So many other guys have been great. Henry has run over everyone this season. Mahomes is the face of the NFL and leading the league in passing yards. Allen has made the jump from playing promising to playing elite (this season, at least). Why Rodgers?

Like it or not, one statistic guarantees Rodgers the MVP trophy, and it is not his touchdowns (which Rodgers also leads the league). It is his passer rating.


A quarterback’s passer rating is really the sum of all his stats, using his passing attempts, completions, yards, touchdowns, and interceptions. Rodgers has a passer rating of 121.5 (the second-best single-season passer rating of all-time).

Just a little nugget: the best passer rating all-time belongs to the 2013 MVP…Aaron Rodgers.

Of the 12 best single-season passer ratings of all-time, 8-out-of-12 of those players went on to claim MVP honors their respective years.

What about those four men who didn’t win the MVP?

A statistical breakdown of the best single-season passer ratings of all-time.

Pro Football Reference / Via

I’m glad I asked. The four men were Nick Foles (2013), Ryan Tannehill (2019), and Drew Brees twice. (2018 & 2019).

What do all of them have in common? *drumroll* They did not play the full season, so their passer ratings are not equal to other players on the list. To make the argument against Brees in 2018, who did play 15 out of 16 games, MVP Mahomes threw 50 touchdowns (tying second-most all-time).

Why not yards or touchdowns? Why should passer ratings be so important?

Those stats can be padded in games, especially when a quarterback’s team is behind on the scoreboard and the team is going all out in the passing game to catch up.

Passer rating is the perfect measuring stick for quarterbacks, especially if they’ve all played the same amount of games. The next closest is Deshaun Watson with 112.4, which isn’t even Top 10 all-time.

No player is standing out statistically like Rodgers, and he has consistently been the best player in the league this season.

Although, there must be a quick shout-out to Tennessee Titans running back Derrick Henry for surpassing 2,000 rushing yards. In today’s NFL, that is truly extraordinary.

So much for a four-man race, huh? Rodgers and the Packers haven’t been a show-stopping team, but the results are clear.

The 2020-21 NFL MVP will be Aaron Rodgers.


Agree? If so, do you think it will be unanimous? Disagree? Well, history is not on your side, but please, let me know who you think should win the MVP?

Source link

The following two tabs change content below.
Like this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *